I have been using DXM (Dextromethorphan) about 3-5 times a week for 5+ years now. I don’t know exactly why I use so much DXM, but I do. I find that I can tolerate it in ways that other people could not. I can now take up to 1,000mg and still do my job or any other activity. It has changed the way my brain and consciousness works. I began about 6 years ago after hearing about the new research on treating depressed people with Ketamine. Ketamine and DXM are very, very similar substances, except for one glaring difference: DXM is legal. Probably my biggest reason for DXM being my Shamanic tool of choice is its legality. I view the drug war as a giant travesty on a level with the holocaust, and using illegal drugs carries with it a large amount of karmic baggage. Plus, I’m introverted, and I’ve never been very comfortable scoring illegal drugs even though I definitely have. Lastly, DXM comes very well labeled. I know exactly what I’m buying and how much. This is a big deal to me as a scientist.

Let me say that I am aware that I am taking big risks in doing this kind of thing. I don’t believe that DXM is very toxic. It is one of the most widely consumed medications on that planet as it is in almost every cold medicine formulation. This is billions upon billions of test cases. If it were found to be toxic, it is likely that we would know by now. Of course, everything is toxic if consumed in large enough quantities, but I am actually somewhat careful about it. I am, however, prone to impulsive behavior, and well, I do what I do. I consult with my intuition and guides using divination and visualization, and I believe that their opinion is that it is positive or neutral. And I have had a very difficult life in many respects, so the risks did not seem as large to me when I took them, and I feel safe now in what I do.

It has led to psychosis in my life, and I have been hospitalized many times for various reasons, but I began using DXM because I already had a history of mental illness since I was 15.  I have come to understand the psychological roots of that psychosis through my work in the occult bodies of knowledge like Buddhism, Taoism, Hinduism, Christianity, Alchemy, Hermeticism, Qabalah, Western Science, Gnosticism, etc. I became a psychonaut because I was deeply troubled. And I say very confidently that using DXM combined with a holistic system of psychological work has reduced my confusion, depression, and anxiety. I am happy to say that it has been a year since I have been depressed or suicidal. This is a big deal to me!

There is the issue of acute (short term) psychosis with DXM that can effect anyone if the dosage is too high. The acute can manifest with DXM where the user might become paranoid that dark forces are working against him or her. I’ve also had acute situations where I thought I was dying or where time began to break down. I usually prepare a strong dosage of the sleep medication Trazodone in case these situations arise as they tend to pass when the peak dosage subsides.  DXM is a powerful consciousness stimulant, so one has to keep balance over the basics of survival. The basics of tripping apply to DXM as they do to any other substance. I actually have had more trouble with cannabis than DXM recently.

I consider myself a true psychonaut. I go out there, and I go way out there. Lately, I have been concerned about how far out I go, but my measures of life quality including peace of mind, joy, optimism, and productivity are very high. The more bizarre my trips get, the more peace I seem to have. It’s quite complicated, but I am confident that what I am doing is a good thing. The vast majority of people tend to live their lives in a larval state, and for whatever reason, I’m comfortable doing this kind of thing. I think that if you change your consciousness too fast however, it can be uncomfortable, and a strict moderation is prudent.

Over the course of my time using DXM, the effect of the drug has changed. I tend to take a micro-dose so that I can continue working, writing, composing, etc. I suppose I use it like many people use cannabis in that respect. From what I have read, most people tend to use DXM to trip as hard as possible, and I do this occasionally, but definitely not all the time. When I first began to use DXM, it was very liberating for my social anxieties, as I was able to be more comfortable in my own skin. I am a queer person, and I have transitioned genders from male to female, and this reality caused an extreme amount of awkwardness from a young age. Now, thanks in large part to DXM and transition, my gender is not something I have to think about, and I get to socialize with the people I truly want to socialize with.

Later, after a year or so of using DXM, my consciousness adapted to utilize it to feed directly into the Chi/Prana energy system. When I take it I begin to feel waves of chi vibrating through my body. As this energy becomes strong enough, I now know how to manipulate it with my mind. At first this was extremely disturbing. Not in that it feels bad but in that I was experiencing something in my body that we do not acknowledge in the western system of science. In this respect, DXM threw me off the intellectual grid, and I had to learn to adjust to this. Now I feel that stimulating my chi and moving it throughout my body has liberated me in many respects, and I am quite joyous about this discovery. But I would say that it is controversial, and it has led to a feeling of alienation.

I would say that just because you use DXM, you will not necessarily see the kind of results that I have achieved. I don’t know if my body chemistry is unique. I also think that you have to have a strong yen for the spiritual path, and I very much know that this is not common. Many of the effects I have experienced are well documented in the Tibetan Buddhist system and are called [Siddhis](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siddhi). I know that it is controversial to say that you can know the future and read people’s minds, but this is so obvious to me now that it would be as though there were another color on the rainbow. If you saw another color on the rainbow, you wouldn’t need a vast proof to believe it, you would just see it. That being said, I am a skeptic. There is a lot of delusion in the modern world, and I have been victim to that delusion, but what I know now is what I know. I don’t know what is going on, but I know *something* is going on.

I did recently take about 7 months off from taking DXM. I quit drinking alcohol because alcohol is a really dangerous drug, and I used it in unhealthy ways. In the past year I’ve only used alcohol twice, and I feel remarkably better. The past year has been amazing because I sobered up from alcohol and really have chosen to pursue a positive life. Quitting DXM for 7 months was very helpful in understanding my personal psychology. I wanted to know if I was delusional in believing all of this Shamanic mumbo jumbo, and I still believed it and perceived it when I wasn’t using DXM, so I added DXM back into my routine. However, I have added it back in a balanced way, prioritizing work, sleep, and diet much more highly than I did in the past.

DXM has revolutionized my spiritual life. I would say that I’m primarily a Taoist, although there is much Buddhism, Christianity, and Modernism in there too. Through my energy manipulation techniques, I can see how transformed my consciousness has become. I feel as though I am a fully grown tree where I was a sapling before. Can I prove this? Not in a Reddit post, I can’t. Much of the proof is very hard to explain, but the things have been revealed to me daily for years, and they defy logical explanation. I love life. I really do. I don’t think you have to use DXM or other psychedelics to wake up to the joy in life, but for me, I don’t know how I would have done it. I also don’t think I need to use it anymore necessarily, but I do for now.

I’m very, very grateful that there is the wonderful Psychonaut community on the Internet and in life. I went to a meeting of 30+ Psychonauts last night here in Portland, and it was overwhelming. Thank you all for opening your hearts to me. Blessings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

