​I’m listening to The Roots – Undun. I love this album. It’s a concept album about a fictional person from the ghetto and it’s told in reverse order. Sonically, it is challenging and bold. The verses are poignant and mature. I love neo soul beats, and I tend to write a lot in that style with my own music. Questlove definitely knows how to make the beats bite in this album.

I used to listen to this album when I was coming out as transgender in LA and driving home to the valley on the 101, passing billboards for Rolls Royce in my Ford, making money but seeing it all disappear and having my kids taken from me. This music was vital and just dark enough to speak to that striving and struggle in my soul. I was just starting out on my shamanic journey of transformation into authenticity. Now I’m there. I found the promised land. It’s not Rolls Royces and fame. It’s self acceptance and peace with God.

I still have that trusty Ford Fusion. Her battery is almost spent, there’s a gash in one of her tires even though it still is inflated. We’re kinda scarred and beat up, but we are driving on, into the destined night, knowing the new day is already manifesting on the other side of the globe. I just gotta wait for it, sing my songs and praise that beautiful lion that roars in my heart called God.

Leave a Reply

