When I worked in tech, I had access to the purchase history of over 100 million people because I worked in online banking. There are and were hardly any regulations with respect to this data, not like HIPPA. I could see how many dildos you bought and how much you gamble. I never really looked because I’m not an asshole (mostly!), but I could have easily.

You need never feel alone, someone is always watching you!

I also developed a way of predicting companies’ stated quarterly revenue by analyzing the data. I’m not really a gambler, but in my opinion, the stock market is mostly rigged. Not that you didn’t know that, but the people with the data know everything. You know when you use your “club card” at the grocery store. They’re measuring you.

And typically the lab rats don’t measure the scientists.

Leave a Reply

